My Tech Journey so far

My Tech Journey so far

My little journey in the world of Tech. My highs, Lows, Regrets, and everything in between.

I've dreaded writing this for a while cause I didn't think I'd gotten to the stage in my journey where I can tell my story. But in the spirit of celebrating my little wins let's go!!!

In January 2020, the year of horrors, before everything went wrong I was with 2 coursemates who were talking about programming and I was just there looking dumb and confused cause I was a 300 level computer engineering student with no knowledge of anything computers. Kind of like 90% of my mates. Being the girl who always want to surpass the boys I decided I was going to learn this programming thing. It didn't work out as planned, I had absolutely no resources to follow with plus the fact that I had no idea of how vast this field was.

Then as the universe will have it, Asuu did what it does best. On top of that covid struck so we were forced to go home. But before I went home I told a close friend I wanted to learn programming and this boy laughed at me. He tried and it didn't work well for him so he assumed I wouldn't be able to understand anything in programming. It hurt but I brushed it off cause nobody but me mattered at that point. In April of 2020, I found a course on Laimoon on the Introduction to HTML, CSS, and JAVASCRIPT, and can I just say that was a complete waste of my time. But a day before I started the course which was supposed to be on my 19th birthday my brother broke my laptop screen, (like why was the entire world against me!!). Luckily for me, my sister and Her Husband gave me a very sweet laptop way better than the one I was using.

I took the course feeling like I knew something but unfortunately I only really understood HTML. Sadly my money for the course went just like that. Anyway, I finally summoned the courage to ask for help from someone who has been the best mentor(Doesn't want to accept it though) ever. He sent me a blog with a 4-months guide to tech. I was feeling myself in the beginning because they were teaching me how the internet works and all of that. Of course HTML my gee was a good confidence booster. Then CSS was not entering my head at all cause what on earth was I reading and watching.

At some point, I was more interested in following the tutorials I was watching than understanding the fundamentals of the entire thing. It got hard to keep up so I left it. Bear in mind that I was still at home because of the strike with no money and no job, just me trying to learn a skill that didn't want to be learned. This caused me to go into a terrible depression which was so hard for me and I think my family was displeased at some point because of that.

I somehow picked myself up and went back into learning after about 3 months of being at my lowest. It's safe to say I forgot nearly everything but I didn't give up. I decided it was time to learn JavaScript even though I was still struggling with CSS, I don't know why I was in such a hurry, but as expected I didn't understand anything about it, at that point I'd given up on programming.

Someone posted on a group offering to help people struggling with learning tech and I reached out. He gave me a project of Just HTML and CSS to work on. I tried but after a week I gave up on the entire thing. And started reconsidering my career path.

In January of 2021, my friend saw an ad from FemCode Africa saying they wanted to do a 3-month training for N10,000, I paid and I think that's one of the best decisions I ever made. The training started in February the month I was finally back to school and sort of in a good place mentally. That was when I understood the importance of community, accountability, and consistency. That was all I really was struggling with. The training was going so well. Unfortunately, tragedy struck and I lost my mum. All of a sudden the BootCamp didn't matter anymore, meaning I didn't get to finish the training the way I would have loved. But I still tried my best to finish the final project which I'm very proud of. After this, I took a little break before coming back with the intention of understanding JavaScript. Of course, I struggled but this time I wasn't about to let myself give up. Some days were nice, some were hard but in all I stayed on my course to learn JavaScript. My exams came so I had to drop JS again.

After the exams, I was determined to master JS. It was going well till I got stuck and frustrated and reached out to someone who bought a Brad Travesey Course for me. This was another great decision I made in tech cause the course helps me till this day.

For now, this is how far I've come. Hopefully, I will get to learn React very soon. I'm really looking forward to that.